What is a SIC [Standard Industry Classification Code]?

SIC code

The federal government created the SIC Standard Industry Code system to categorize all businesses into distinct categories.  


Standard Industry codes can be 2, 4, 6 or 8 digits but most list vendors only go as narrow as 6 digits. The first 2 digits describe the broad nature of the business as seen here.


SIC Businesses
Business types diagram management strategy concept chart illustration

The categories become more specific as they go from 2 to 4 to 6 digits. For example, 13 is for Oil and Gas Extraction, 1311 is Crude Petroleum and Natural Gas, 131102 is Gas and hydrocarbon liquefaction from coal, and 13110203 is Coal pyrolysis. So as you can see, the longer the sic code, the more specific the industry.  Some List owners may have slightly varying SIC codes. 

Download a copy of the SIC Standard Industry Code

2 Digit codes  

4 digit codes

6 digit codes

8 digit codes

The key thing to remember is that each time you narrow down the sic codes, your list will become smaller and smaller but it will be more targeted and that’s what we want. Taking the above example, as an illustration, there are 21,056 companies that fall under sic code 13 (Oil and Gas Extraction) and there is only 1 company under sic code 13110203 (Coal pyrolysis) in the United States.

What are the NAICS codes?

NAIC (North American Industry Classification System) was created in an effort to replace SIC codes. However, most of the list suppliers do not use NAICS codes with their business databases. NAICS codes are to SIC codes what Beta was to VHS years ago. Seemed like a great idea at the time, but fewer people adopted it.

To search our SIC codes below, please use Control +F to search by industry or number. Tip: The term “NEC” means “not elsewhere classified”.

Questions about SIC/NAIC codes? 

If you have any questions about using SIC OR NAIC codes, please call one of our motivated list brokers at 1-866-575-0043 and they will be happy to help you.

 Contact us today!